How to Buy the Best Diamond Ring for Your GirlFriend

the 4cs of diamonds

Are you looking to buy an affordable engagement ring online? Or finding a perfect gift for this Xmas? or a romantic 10 years anniversary gift? Perhaps a diamond ring is the best present for these occasions. When buying a diamond ring, it is important to note the four qualities that determine the quality and value of a diamond: cut, color, clarity and carat. Check out  website as they have a very nice and detail blog that explains about the 4Cs of diamonds.

The GIA (Gemological Institute of America) revolutionized the diamond industry in 1955 with a diamond grade rating based on the four scoring standards set by GIA and the International Diamond Grading System. Comprehensive on the quality and authenticity of cutting ratio, diamond color, purity, and weight.

Here is the specific consideration from reputable jewelry store when you are choosing a diamond ring:

the 4cs of diamonds

  1. Cut

Each diamond is cut by different manufacturers at different angles. Obviously, depending on the shape of the diamond, they must trim the edges to get a full shine on the diamond when illuminated.

Many people often mistakenly cut the shape of the diamond. In fact, the diamond is usually cut in 58 faces:

– A well-proportioned cross-section will cause the light to reflect from one side to the other and then disperse as much as possible through the upper surface of the diamond.

If the diamond is too deep, some light will be lost to the opposite side of the diamond base.

– If the cutting-edge is too shallow, the light will be partially lost by penetrating the edge or the bottom of the seed before a part of the light reflects on the diamond surface.

Commonly shaped diamonds are rounded, accounting for 75% (brilliant), oval, marquise, baguette, emerald, left pear, radiant, cushion, heart shape, etc.

  1. Color

The most beautiful color for a diamond is no color. Because completely colorless diamonds will look like a prism, light penetrates diamonds easily and turns into colorful rainbow colors.

The color level of diamonds that ranged from bad to good is from yellow to colorless. The difference between this and other color categories is very subtle and can be realized from many levels in any diamond.

The diamond color classification is distinguished by the worst-case letters (Z) to best (D):

– Light yellow has 8 grades from bad to good: Z, Y, X, W, V, U, T, S.

– Very light yellow has 5 grades from bad to good: R, Q, P, O, N.

Slightly yellow faint yellow has three grades from bad to good: M, L, K.

– Near colorless, there are four categories from bad to good: J, I, H, G.

– Colorless has 3 grades from bad to good: F, E, D.

  1. Clarity

Diamonds have the highest brightness than any other gemstone. A diamond that is considered to have the best quality is that there is no inclusion anywhere from the inside to allow light to penetrate and reflect up to 100%.

To find the diamond’s transparency, just use a magnifying glass that has a magnification of 10x magnification and with a trained eye, jeweler knows whether diamonds are bubbling or not. Small bubbles do not necessarily lose the beauty or harm to diamond durability.

  1. Size and weight of diamond (Carat – Weight):

Bigger the diamond is the better but not necessarily so! The size of the diamond is measured in carats. A carat is equal to 100 points, so 50 points are equivalent to half a carat. Depending on the shape, a 1 carat round diamond is equivalent to 6.5mm or 200 milligrams but 2 carats is equivalent to a diameter of 8.2mm or 400 milligrams. Thus, two round diamonds of the same weight may have different rounded faces depending on the diamond cut edge.

The large size of the diamond is obviously an expensive valuation factor. But two diamonds of the same size can cost very different because of the good quality of the precious stones anymore. High-quality diamonds can be found in many sizes ranging from 0.25 carats, 0.50 carats, 1.00 carats.